Manchester City boss named LMA manager of the year


Pep Guardiola won the Premier League with Manchester City for the third time this season; City also won the Carabao Cup and face Chelsea in the Champions League final; Emma Hayes is the first manager from the women’s game to be among the top six contenders for main LMA award

Guardiola led City to a third Premier League title in four seasons, 12 points clear of nearest rivals Manchester United, and a fourth consecutive League Cup.

City will face Chelsea in the final of the Champions League in Porto on Saturday as they look to win the competition for the first time.

The five other managers who received the most votes to be in contention for the award were: Marcelo Bielsa (Leeds), Daniel Farke (Norwich), Emma Hayes (Chelsea Women), David Moyes (West Ham) and Brendan Rodgers (Leicester).

Guardiola previously won the award – voted for by fellow managers – in recognition of overseeing City’s record-breaking 2017-18 campaign when they became the first team in English top-flight history to reach 100 points in a single season.

“I am delighted to win this award for the second time, but an award like this is only possible if a manager is surrounded by top professionals,” said Guardiola.

“My players have been fantastic – their dedication and professionalism never waver, even in a season that has been the most challenging we have ever faced.

“And my staff are also deserving of the highest praise. I am so lucky to have a team of people who give everything they have every single day to make sure Manchester City are the best we can be.

“This award is dedicated to and shared with them.”

LMA Executive Committee member Sir Alex Ferguson added: “As well as being a truly gifted manager and leader, you always display admirable humility and composure and I am sure your family must be very proud of you.”


Leave a Comment